skip navigation
Storm watch
A storm is building

A Special Thank You - To the UVHA Board

05/09/2018, 2:30pm EDT
By Kelly Park

A quick call out to the invisible angels who help push the UV Storm to greatness.

Now that the 2017-2018 season is in the books, a big thank you needs to go out to our Board Members and Volunteers.  This past hockey season was the most successful year in the history of the Upper Valley Storm.  Some of the milestones:

  • 146 registered players - the most in Storm history
  • 21,463 raised through fundraising - the most in Storm history
  • Five teams to state tournament playoffs (B, PW1, SQ1, two Travel Mite teams)
  • Five 2nd place tournament titles (B-GSL, PW2-Hooksett Spring Classic, SQ1-GSL, SQ2-March Classic @ New England Sport Center, TM1-GSL)
  • One championship title (PW1-Hooksett Spring Classic) 
  • 26 volunteer coaches

A large part of the success of the UV Storm is dedicated to the tireless work of our board.  Year in and year out they are working hard to make the Storm the best / most successful youth hockey organization it can be.  While most parents & families have moved on to other sports, the board continues to grind out the details for the 2018-2019 season.  They have just finished their Annual Meeting and have already mapped out the next season, despite it only being May.  

If you happen to see a board member, take the time to thank them for their dedication.  These are unpaid positions that amounts to hundreds of hours a year, sitting in meetings, preparing for events and troubleshooting problems.  If you need a reminder of the board members:

  • Jason Spaulding - President
  • Justin Barwood - Vice President
  • Ryan Ray - Treasurer
  • Sarah Morlock - Secretary / Fundraising Guru 
  • Alex Defelice - Board Member / Coaching Coordinator
  • Bill Mann - Board Member / Scheduler
  • Kylie Ammel - Board Member / Registrar
  • Matt Maher - Board Member
  • Roger Gillies - Board Member / NHAHA Representative
  • Mindy Dube - Safesport Coordinator
  • Mark Goodwin - Referee in Chief
  • John Morlock - Equipment Manager

A special thank you to Ryan Ray & Matt Maher for their several years of service on the board, both as general board members as well as executive officers.  Ryan & Matt have decided to move on and and we would like to welcome and thank two new board members were approved last month:

  • Brock Barton - Treasurer
  • Josh Obar - Board Member

Or you can see the full list here:

Another big shout out to our volunteers.  Our coaches also donate their time on a daily basis to make sure that our players & kids have the best hockey education possible.  They are a HUGE reason why the Storm continues to grow and has such an excellent reputation.  Again, these are unpaid volunteers that put in hundreds of hours a year helping to train our players.  Putting in time both on and off the ice.  Thank you coaches.

Last but not least, the parents and family members who help volunteer at games to do scorekeeping, penalty boxes and other thankless duties around the rink.  The view from the score box isn’t quite as good as it would be from the stands, but your time is valuable and we appreciate it.

On to 2018-2019.

Thank you!

Tag(s): News